The Kingdom of Norway, is a unitary sovereign state in Northwestern Europe whose core territory comprises the western and northernmost portion of the Scandinavian Peninsula. It is bordered by Finland, Russia and Denmark. It has an extensive coastline, facing the North Atlantic Ocean and the Barents Sea. Norway has a total area of 148,747 square miles and a population of 5.3 million. Oslo is the capital city and the official language is Norwegian and Sami.

The kingdom has existed continuously for 1,145 years. King Harald V of the Dano-German House of Gl├╝cksburg is the current King of Norway. A constitutional monarchy, Norway divides state power between the Parliament, the cabinet and the Supreme Court.

The Norwegian Decorations were established by Royal Decree of June 11, 1943. The highest Award is the War Cross with swords. A new sword is awarded each time a person, who already has the War Cross, distinguishes him- or herself in battle.


See the "General Sources" page in the Footer for Norway's sources.

155 results found

Filter By

Scroll Top