Hungary is a country in Central Europe that covers an area of 35,920 square miles in the Carpathian Basin, bordered by Slovakia, Ukraine, Austria, Romania, Serbia, Croatia and Slovenia. With about 10 million inhabitants, Hungary is a medium-sized member state of the European Union. The official language is Hungarian. Hungary's capital and its largest city and metropolis is Budapest, a significant economic hub, classified as a leading global city.

Hungary was laid in the late 9th century by the Hungarian grand prince Árpád in the conquest of the Carpathian Basin. Hungary later formed the great power Austro–Hungarian Empire together with Austria. Hungary's current borders were established in 1920 by the Treaty of Trianon after World War I. During the Second World War, the country suffered significant damage and casualties and became a satellite state of the Soviet Union. The country gained widespread international attention as a result of its Revolution of 1956 and the seminal opening of its previously-restricted border with Austria in 1989, which accelerated the collapse of the Eastern Bloc. On 23 October 1989, Hungary became a democratic parliamentary republic.

The Royal Hungarian Saint Stephen's Order, until 1918 the highest ranking civilian order of the Austrian-Hungarian monarchy, was donated by Maria Theresia as a supporter of the Military Maria Theresa Order on May 5, 1764 and dedicated to St. Stephen.


Signum Laudis:
Valka Forum:
Bodrogik, Péter, Józef Molnár, and Sándor Zeidler. Nagy Magyar Kitüntetéskönyv. Budapest: Rubicon Könyvek, 2005.

428 results found

Filter By

  • Add To My Medals

  • Quick View

  • Hungary (Socialist)

Scroll Top