Prussia was a historically prominent state in Germany. It started in 1525 with a duchy centered on the region of Prussia on the southeast coast of the Baltic Sea. From 1701 became Prussia a Kingdom by the German Hohenzollern dynasty, including Prussia and Brandenburg, with Berlin as its capital. The Kingdom included the provinces of West Prussia; East Prussia; Brandenburg; Saxony.

In the 18th century, Prussia became one of the five major European powers and became the second German major power to Austria. Prussia continuously tried to bring unify all the German states under its rule, except the German cantons in Switzerland. They drove forward the creation of a German nation state decisively and was from 1867 the dominant member state of the North German Confederation. In 1871 this covenant was transformed into the German Empire and the kings of Prussia took over the office of the German Emperor.

The End of WWI was the Germany's defeat and the overthrow of the empire and the Prussian monarchy also ended Prussia’s supremacy. That meant, Prussia, lost part of Silesia, Posen, West Prussia, Danzig, Memel, northern Schleswig, some small areas on the Belgian frontier, and the Saar district as a result of the Treaty of Versailles.

After the WWII, the country came under the control of the victorious allies. The eastern areas were awarded in the context of the western shift Poland. On February 25, 1947, Prussia became a formal abolition.

208 results found

Filter By

Scroll Top